Tuesday morning

Everything was conspiring to get me up this morning. I woke up around 4am to shut the windows to the torrential flood pouring from the sky. Then I woke up at 5:40 and was wide awake – I even got up and fed the cats. But then decided I would go back to bed for an hour or so. Half an hour later, the cats made it clear they wanted none of it (they seem to think we should eat breakfast together?) and “helped” me awake by scratching in the litter box and jumping on the bed. Between that and my 9-minute snooze button, I don’t know why I didn’t just stay awake earlier.

BUT, in one of those half-awake, in-between spaces, my research topic came to me.

In a complete sentence.

I study how teachers use digital platforms to support student composing practices.

(insert harmonious chords sung by a large chorus).

When I got up, I went for a run. Well, half walk half run. But the rain was perfect. While I was out, I tinkered with some more versions of my topic:

– I study how teachers support student composing practices with digital tools

– I study how teachers support student composing practices with digital platforms and social technologies.

– I study how teachers support students’ literate practices with digital platforms and social technologies.

See, I know that technologies are inherently social, but I want to be able to study what happens offline (and technologies as more than digital tools)

It’s more of a clear path than I had.

Current Reading 

Anyway, reading yesterday some of Dewey’s Experience and Education – super good, and so pertinent. The opening he was characterizing traditional education as a top-down and outside-in paradigm of what learning is. Progressive education, in dismantling that, must struggle to also figure out how to not throw out the value of learning from a body of knowledge and those older and more experienced. I’m looking forward to reading more of it.

This morning on the bus I was reading some of Tufte’s Envisioning Information – hoping to think about visual representations of information, data, and how design plays a role in creating time and experience of information.

 

 

Leave a Reply

